5 Precepts

Buddhist Ethics


  1. Kindness, not cruelty
  2. Generosity, not being mean
  3. Contentment, not craving
  4. Being genuine, not false
  5. Awareness, not escapism

The Five Precepts – Positive Form

  1. With deeds of loving kindness, I purify my body
  2. With open-handed generosity, I purify my body
  3. With stillness, simplicity and contentment, I purify my body
  4. With truthful communication, I purify my speech
  5. With mindfulness clear and radiant, I purify my mind

The Five Precepts – Negative Form

I undertake the training principle of:

  1. Not harming living beings
  2. Not taking the not-given
  3. Abstaining from sexual misconduct
  4. Abstaining from false speech
  5. Abstaining from intoxicants